The 2023 work calendar will have 14 public holidays, of which 9 will be common throughout Spain.

Murcia is one of the five communities in which January 2 will be a holiday

He Official State Gazette (BOE) has already published the list of public holidays in all regions. Thus, each autonomous community has 14 holidays that are divided into: eight national holidays, four fixed by the community and two local holidays.

Nine public holidays throughout Spain

The eight non-replaceable national holidays that are collected in all communities are April 7 (Good Friday), May 1 (Monday, Labor Day), August 15 (Tuesday, Asunción de la Virgen), October 12 (Thursday, Spanish National Holiday), November 1 (Wednesday, All Saints), December 6 (Wednesday, Spanish Constitution Day), December 8 (Friday, the Immaculate Conception) and December 25 (Monday, Christmas).

In addition, all the autonomous communities will celebrate the Epiphany of the Lord (Friday, January 6), one of the national holidays - the night of Kings - known as "substitutable" and that it is allowed to change for another regional one.

On January 2, only a holiday in five communities

Another replaceable holiday is January 1 (Sunday, New Year). The regions have been able to choose whether to move the holiday to the following Monday, January 2, or change it to another holiday. Thus, only five communities have chosen to make it a holiday on January 2: Andalusia, Aragon, Asturias, Castilla y León and Murcia.

Easter 2023

Easter 2023 will take place in the first fortnight of April. As happens every year, some regions have Holy Thursday as a holiday on their calendar while others enjoy Easter Monday.

It will be a holiday on Holy Thursday (April 6) in: Andalusia, Aragon, Asturias, the Balearic Islands, the Canary Islands, Cantabria, Castilla-La Mancha, Castilla y León, Extremadura, Galicia, the Community of Madrid, Murcia, Navarra, the Basque Country, La Rioja , Ceuta and melilla.

While they will celebrate on Easter Monday (April 10): Balearic Islands, Catalonia, Navarra, the Basque Country, La Rioja and the Valencian Community.

Work calendar 2023

The list of public holidays common to all of Spain in 2023 (eight non-replaceable and one movable) is as follows:

  • January 6: Epiphany of the Lord (Friday)
  • April 7: Good Friday (Friday)
  • May 1: Labor Day (Monday)
  • August 15: Assumption of the Virgin (Tuesday)
  • October 12: National Holiday of Spain (Thursday)
  • November 1: All Saints (Wednesday)
  • December 6: Spanish Constitution Day (Wednesday)
  • December 8: Immaculate Conception (Friday)
  • December 25: Christmas (Monday)
Skip to content